Pustule Pies

My children love to bake and cook with me. It is one of those activities that they only do with Mommy (the hubster seemed to get divorced from the kitchen at the same time as we got married….hmmmmm!)

We are looking forward to our first proper Samhain (Halloween to my non-pagan people) and so we made some ‘pustule pies’ as a practice on Sunday.

Image

 

Ready roll sweet short crust pastry (Aldi)

Lemon Curd (Aldi)

These were the most super simple thing to do with the kiddles.  They only needed to cut out circles using a cookie cutter (we used a 2 1/2 incher), spoon in some lemon curd and 20 minutes later (you will want to check them though. I just about got these bad boys in time. They are a little ‘crispy’ on the edges!) you’ve got pustule pies!

We got 14 out of one sheet of pastry. We could have possibly got more but the hubster requested a ‘lemon curd pasty’ with the remnants…so that’s what he got!!

There were lovely….I think I tested 4 as my hand snuck to the plate to get number 5 I start to feel a little sugar sick…..you know that feeling you get after too much jelly and icecream???

Leave a comment